Author Topic: ESL/TESOL Discussion  (Read 1694 times)

ginger

• Scout
  • Preferred pronouns: she/her
ESL/TESOL Discussion
« on: May 03, 2016, 08:53:54 AM »
So, I might be the only one interested in having this discussion (which is okay), but I figured it wouldn't hurt to make a topic here to see if anybody else is in my boat! But, considering the lingual bunch we have here, I think that there are probably some friends here who are interested in ESL (English as a Second Language) or TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)

I am a student, and I'm fascinated by language. I've been speaking English for my entire life (in the United States) and studying it for all of my education, of course, and am nearing the end of my third year of French study. I am very interested in teaching language (specifically, those two as I'm the most committed to them at the moment), and would be interested in getting my TESOL certification to be able to teach internationally in future.

I have been a helper at a local community ESL program for adults in my area, but we are about to break for the summer and I have been thinking about how much I will miss the students until September (some of whom will be returning to their home countries over the summer).

So, while I'll have an ESL-shaped void over the summer, I thought it would be fun to have a discussion here to share quotes from students (because honestly, they're the most precious human beings), tips or applications for jobs overseas, fun stories, and just have some camaraderie amongst those interested in teaching this absurd language.

All friends/teachers/enthusiasts are, of course, welcome!
:usa: :france:
Avatar courtesy of the impeccable mith!

Juniper

• Ranger
    • Tumblr
  • 달도 차면 기운다
Re: ESL/TESOL Discussion
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 10:25:17 PM »